How the 14 things are faring

About time, well way past time for an update on how the 14 things are going. I can happily πŸ™‚ report that they are actually going pretty well.

1. Grand Teton Park is still on the list, and may not happen until fall, or will have to be tabled until next year, just because of how all other summer activities and commitments are playing out. But I will get here!

2. Travel! Good news this is a go, going to Vegas for August long weekend, annnd am planning to go Southeast Asia/Pacific this fall, if not early winter πŸ™‚

3. Overnight Hiking Trip – Really trying to get some time from work to make this a go for August, if not it will be a next year adventure, and some lengthy and exhausting hikes will suffice for this year.

4. Waterton – Wooo! Just went this Friday and it was wonderful, the weather was great and Crypt Lake Hike is unreal! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a challenge and rewarding hike!

Looking back from a switchback on the ascent
Looking back from a switchback on the ascent

Crypt Falls

The destination, Crypt Lake
The destination, Crypt Lake

 

5. Name some star constellations – Still working on this, I kind of have what I think is an awesome scenario for this to play out, just waiting for the opportune moment to do it and enjoy it πŸ˜‰ (Also I did really enjoy the super moon when it was out on July 12th so that was pretty neat too).

6. Canning!! – Unfortunately hail took out all the Saskatoons I was planning to pick for canning, but come this fall doing pickles and pickled carrots may be an option instead, or peaches from the fruit truck! Specifically Saskatoons, but if it’s not a good year for Saskatoon picking I’ll settle for learning another one like cherries, or pickled carrots.

7. Enter in another Run – Did the moonlight! Going to leave it at that for this year I think. Unless I do a fall fun or charity run.

8. Yoga at least 4x/month – Been doing it and achieving it! Lately I have been more focused on head stands and the variations that come along with those, but it still definitely zens me out at night and gets me amped up for the day in the morning. Loving the blood rushes!

9. Watch either Lord of the Rings or the Star Wars – I just finished the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and I actually really enjoyed it. Movies are generally pretty hard for me to sit through and pay attention to without getting distracted, or falling asleep. It did take me a few tries to get through the Fellowship and Return of the King, but once I got going, and stopped when I lost focus it went really well!

10. Try out a new sport – Ultimate takes to cake for this one, really enjoyed it and I hope and would like to think it has improved my beersbee skills. Even if it hasn’t I am a bit better at throwing it for Cash during fetch.

11. Girls trip – Banff, Ria’s Casa, there have been a few and not saying Garret is a girl but Garret’s Angels Adventure to Vegas is gonna count in here too.

12. Rap – I DID THIS!!! May long during a round of Chardee MacDennis Maria and I pulled this card and took the stage away. It was definitely an amateur Macklemore and Ryan Lewis moment, and it was awesome. Somewhere out there video evidence does exist of this.

13. T-shirt Quilt – Yeah… maybe a t-shirt quilt isn’t the best idea, the more I think about making this the more I get cold feet about it. I have a few other sewing projects in mind that I think will turn out a lot better than this was (I just think it might be tacky) so I am going to put these projects in this spot instead, if I change my mind on the quilt I will definitely do it too.

14. Journal – Has been done, there were some shotty weeks, but hey I have been consistent for the most part and enjoying it. Kind of doing my own version of 100 days of Happiness now and loving it!

Bonus: Graduating! – DONE!! What an exciting and happy day, so glad I got to share it with those I love!

So this is it the update, so far so good, still things to work on, but I’m closer than I was yesterday! πŸ™‚

PS Here are some more beauty pictures from Waterton πŸ™‚

Right before the tunnel!
Right before the tunnel!
Last part of the side of the mountain
Last part of the side of the mountain
Crypt Lake flowing from underground to the falls
Crypt Lake flowing from underground to the falls
Looking over the falls.. well kind of.
Looking over the falls.. well kind of.
Looking down from a switchback
Looking down from a switchback

Leave a comment